In 10 days, I’m taking the kids to Puerto Rico for a long week of vacation.
I’m so excited to relax at our favorite beaches, visit friends, and do nothing but read, rest, eat, swim, and soak up the sun. This is our first “big trip” since the divorce. In the past three years I’ve done a couple of overseas trips by myself, and several road trips/family visits with the kids. But this is my first time doing the whole flight+rental car+hotels+etc for all five of us, as the sole adult.
It’s a little intimidating.
The planning is fun. I like trip logistics and I’m good at that sort of thing. It’s really the idea that I’ll be THE ADULT on this trip. If something goes wrong, I gotta solve it. I have to do all the navigating and driving, checking in and out, making decisions, communicating…
Fortunately, this one is a soft launch. We’re going back to where we lived, not a new place. We have friends there, so I can get help if I need it. That makes it easier. Plus the kids are not little. They’re near-adults, helpful, intelligent, capable, and great travelers. So I’m expecting things will go great, we’ll handle little disruptions with ease, and have a lovely time. I hope so, because I love traveling, and I love traveling with my kids, and I want to do more of it. It’s been on hold till now. Feels really good (even if a bit scary) to unpause this part of my life and pick it up in a new way.